Reset User Network Password from Mac

General Information

This document walks PCPS staff members how to renew an expiring password or change an already expired password from a district-owned Mac.

Important Information

To have Macs reset or sync passwords, the Mac must be on a PCPS network or connected via FortiClient VPN.

Important Terms

  • NoMAD (No More Active Directory) – An app that is preinstalled on all district-owned Macs that communicates with Active Directory servers and facilitates user password syncing and updating.

Changing User Password From the Mac

  1. From the Mac’s Menu Bar at the top-right, click the white triangle icon.
  2. Click Change Password.
  3. In the Current Password field, input your current password.
  4. In the New Password and Verify fields, input a new password.
  5. Click Change Password.

Your password has been changed.

PCPS Password Criteria

Passwords must meet the PCPS requirements of:

  • Must be at least 8-characters long
  • Contain at least 3 of the following:
    • An upper-cased letter
    • A lower-cased letter
    • A number
    • A special character

Password Already Expired or Was Changed Elsewhere

If User Knows Old Password

  1. Log into user’s account with old password.
  2. From the Mac’s Menu Bar at the top-right, click the white triangle icon.
  3. Click Sign In.
  4. Input the old password.

The new password will be synched with the Mac and can be used to log in.

If User Does Not Remember Old Password

Unfortunately, nothing can be done and the account must be deleted and then recreated with the new password. This is destructive and all data stored in the user’s account will be deleted. Because of this, we strongly encourage users to store important files on a cloud solution like Apple iCloud or Microsoft OneDrive.

  1. Log into the Mac’s local Administrator account.
    1. Username: administrator
    2. Password: EERS@XXXX (where XXXX is your school or department’s location number)
  2. Go to Apple > System Preferences.
  3. Click Users & Groups.
  4. At the bottom-left, click the padlock icon.
  5. Input the local administrator’s credentials.
  6. In the left, select the user’s account.
  7. Click the – (minus) button.
  8. Select Delete the home folder.
  9. Click Delete User.
  10. Go to Apple > Log Out Administrator.
  11. Have the user log in with their new credentials. Their account will be automatically created.