Remote Wipe a Device

Table of Contents

Revision Date

Purpose

February 18, 2019

Network Managers can wipe an iPad remotely through a device’s management commands. Once the remote command has been sent, the process cannot be undone.

This document outlines how to wipe a single iPad. To wipe more than one iPad, or a cart, at a time, see the Wipe Multiple Devices document.

Important Terms

  • Wipe – To erase all content and settings from an iPad. Wiping an iPad does not automatically re-setup the iPad or re-enroll into Jamf.

Works on

  • Apple TVs
  • iPads (Staff/Student 1:1)
  • iPads (Shared)
  • iPads (Standard)
  • Macs

Step 1

Log into Jamf console

  1. From a web browser, navigate to https://polkfl.jamfcloud.com.
  2. Log in with your netadmin account’s credentials (usually net admin-LocationNumber). Do not use the full email address.

Search for device

  1. Click Devices > Search Inventory.
  2. In the search field at the top, you can search by any of these criteria:
    1. Serial number
    2. SAP number (if provided)
    3. Username (if the iPad is assigned to a user)
  3. Make sure Mobile Devices is selected in the drop-down box.
  4. To the right, click Search.

Step 2

Access Management tab

  1. On the resulting search results, click on the blue name of the device.
  2. Click Management tab.

Wipe device

  1. Click Wipe Device.
  2. Check Clear Activation Lock (supervised iOS devices only).
  3. Check Retain Cellular Data Plan.
  4. Check Suppress Proximity Setup.
  5. Click Wipe Device.
  6. Click OK.